School Organisation

School Organisation

Senior Leadership Team

Headteacher - Mr Michael Simpson (Vision & Values / School Improvement / Teaching and Learning / Behaviour for Learning)

Deputy Headteacher - Miss Alison Stewart  (KS2 / Safeguarding Lead)

Deputy Headteacher - Mr Stephan van der Merwe (KS3 / Attendance Lead)

Assistant Headteacher - Mrs Heather Donnellan (Values Education)

Business Manager - Mrs Colleen Dinner

Curriculum Leaders

Head of English - Mr Paul Brown

Head of Maths - Miss Laura Murton

Head of Science - Miss Hayley Butchard

Head of RE - Mrs Jacqui French

Head of Art - Miss Sue Warren

Head of Design and Technology - Mr Peter Salamon

Head of Drama - Mrs Jillian Davies

Head of French - Mr Stephen Johnson

Head of Geography - Miss Gillian Hawkins

Head of History - Miss Selina King

Head of ICT - Mr Tim Crapnell

Head of Music - Miss Diane Love

Head of PE - Mr Mike Eames

Head of PSHCE - Miss Selina King

SENDCo - Mrs Jillian Davies


Pastoral Support

All students belong to a year-specific Tutor Group. The Year groups are led by Heads of Year and there is a team of tutors who support students on a day-to-day basis. The tutors provide the direct pastoral care for their tutees, they are the main home-school link, they teach students for PSHCE (Personal, Social, Health and Citizenship Education) and they deal with rewards and sanctions.

The team of Year 5 tutors specialise particularly in looking after students on transfer from Lower School and only tutor students in Year 5. From Years 6, the Form tutor will, where possible, remain with the tutor group throughout Years 6-8.

Heads of Year:

Head of Year 5  - Mrs Eileen Warner 

Head of Year 6 - Mr Mike Eames 

Head of KS3 (Years 7 & 8) - Miss Alissa Norman


House Structure

The celebration of student achievement is centrally delivered through the House system. House Points are awarded for good work and effort.  (We also put stickers into student organisers for a wide range of reasons – good effort, helpfulness…)

All students are placed in a House on entry into the School.  The Houses are named after the four patron saints of the British Isles.  Each House has its own colour which is incorporated in the School badge.


Head of House

House Colour

St Andrew

Miss  Warren


St David

Miss  Hawkins


St George

Mrs Simpson


St Patrick

Mrs Zarei






When a student has a sister or brother already in the School s/he is normally placed in the same house.  Requests can also be made by parents who are ex-students.  Parents who are ex-students of Holywell, who would like their child to be in the same house, should make this known when returning the Student Information Sheet, which will be distributed to parents as part of the Welcome Pack at the beginning of the summer term.

There is a wide range of Inter-House sporting activities - Netball, Hockey, Soccer, Rugby and Cross-Country run in the Autumn and Winter; Athletics, Rounders and Cricket during the Summer Term and trophies are awarded for these competitions.

House Point certificates are awarded in House Assemblies to children gaining 25, 50, 75 and 150 house points.  The 100, 200 and 300 house point certificates are awarded in Main School Assembly on a Friday. Additionally, each week and each term the House Point Cup is awarded to the house with the greatest number of points.  

View Larger Map

Contact Form

Please fill in the contact form below and we will get back to you as soon as possible.